“Prescription charges – a tax collected only from people who are ill”

‘DC’ writes:

 

“Please add my name to your Petition/Statement calling for the abolition of prescription charges.

 

My main reason for supporting the ending of prescription charges is the very principal of any NHS charging  –  it is in effect a tax collected only from people who are ill.

 

From personal experience I also know that the system of charging is a real mess.  For many years I have suffered from Psoriasis and paid for two prescribed creams. Following a heart attack, for about eight years I paid for prescriptions for four drugs taken daily and a ‘spray’ to be used as necessary. I was then diagnosed with a thyroid problem and was prescribed a single drug. Although this was unrelated to the other medical conditions, for some unknown reason not only was this drug exempt from charges it meant that all my other prescriptions then became exempt from charges. I am now exempt from charges because of my age.”

Leave a Reply

